Education Awards

Alan Shepard Technology in Education AwardAlan Shepard Technology in Education Award

The Space Foundation, in conjunction with the Astronauts Memorial Foundation (AMF) and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) annually presents the Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award to recognize outstanding contributions to creative and innovative use of technology in education by K-12 educators or district-level education personnel.

The award, which is named after Mercury Astronaut Alan Shepard, honors an educator who has demonstrated a commitment to inspiring students' interest in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). The Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award is presented annually at the Space Symposium.

Past Recipients:

  • 2020 Kaci Heins
  • 2019 Jill Gilford
  • 2018 Diego Martinez
  • 2017 Ashlie Blackstone Smith
  • 2016 Margaret Rhule Baguio
  • 2015 June Scobee Rodgers, Ph.D.
  • 2014 Lynne F. Zielinski
  • 2013 Daniel R. Newmyer
  • 2012 Dr. Cynthia D. Waters
  • 2011 James E. Richmond
  • 2010 Allen V. Robnett
  • 2009 Ricardo V. Soria
  • 2008 Kevin L. Simmons
  • 2007 Luther W. Richardson
  • 2006 Kathy R. Brandon
  • 2005 Ronald F. Dantowitz
  • 2004 Charles Geach
  • 2003 Brian Copes
  • 2002 Thomas F. Hunt, Frank E. Waller
  • 2001 Lori Byrne